Randomness

Stupidity or Serendipity

I decided to make cupcakes today. I had all the ingredients in the cupboard, and we had won a cupcake cookery book at the Science Museum pub quiz at the end of July (we came first! woohoo!). I figured that simple lemon cupcakes would be a sensible place to start.

So, I rolled up my sleeves, popped the radio on and got to with the weighing and the sifting and the mixing. “Combine the milk, lemon juice and sour cream in a jug” it says. So i checked on the list how much of each of these I needed, realised that I didn’t have enough milk and sent the ever helpful N out to get some form the corner shop.

I mix, zest and organise some more, slightly curious about just how liquid the mix is. I’ve never made cupcakes before, but assumed it would be less runny than this. Just before I’m about to dish the mixture up into individual cupcake cases, I glanced at the recipe again.

Oh bugger.

It didn’t say 900ml of milk at all, did it? It said 90ml. Oh dear… what’s a girl supposed to do with a bowl full of sloppy stuff that certainly won’t turn into cupcakes?

Well… the consistency was very much like pancake batter, so why not?

Pancake thingLemony pancake thing

And I now have about a litre of random batter bagged up in the freezer in case of future pancake(ish) emergencies. It actually tasted suprisingly good, but didn’t look like the pretty cupcakes I had pictured for myself.

Cupcake cake
Standard

4 thoughts on “Stupidity or Serendipity

  1. That could well have been how they invented pancakes int he first place. In fact I’m off to amend Wikipedia right now.

  2. Pingback: Chicken « Moon In The Gutter

Leave a Reply

