Randomness

If you became Prime Minister tomorrow, what would be your first act?

Sam‘s second question is trickier. There are quite a few things that I can think of that I would like to do if I ever became PM, but narrowing that down to what I would do first is hard.

I think the thing I would probably do first is get rid of the ban on unauthorised demonstrations in the SOCPA zone completely. Although there has been talk of the need for the law to be changed it hasn’t happened yet. I’ve picked this as my first action because it’s quite a simple thing, but is ludicrous in that it achieves nothing other than criminalise people for voicing an opinion. It isn’t going to prevent terrorism (oh no, I haven’t got my paperwork, I’ll have to wait another week to plant my bomb!), and all it does is stifle free speech in a discriminatory way based on the whims of what the police consider to be a protest to be on any given day.

Of course, after I’ve done that, I’ll go on to bring about world peace and an end to climate change. Feel free to vote for me.

This is one of a series of posts where I answer questions from commenters to celebrate my return to more regular blogging. Feel free to ask one yourself!

Standard

Leave a Reply

