Randomness

So….redundancy…

Redundancy. Hideous word, hideous thing.

This is the first time, since I was 16, that I can consider myself to be ‘unemployed’. There were times during university when I wasn’t working, but I was at university and that was not surprising, and I worked during the holidays to make up for it. I don’t like being unemployed (surprise surprise), and I certainly don’t like having to go the job centre…I’m keeping my fingers crossed that I will have a job before I next have to go back there.

The main thing that I would say, is that I am eternally grateful that this has happened while the weather is so nice. If I had to go through this in the cold, rain and dark I think I would be a little puddle of miserableness. But, it is sunny! And therefore it’s more like being on holiday… and I’m working on the theory that I’m going to get a job very soon, so this probably IS my summer holiday.

Those of us from my office that have been effected have put in motion a plan that involves picnics, and museum visits (free!), sewing and knitting and trying to have at least one thing in the diary for each day. These are good plans and stop me being drowned in a see of job hunting.

So far, I’ve had a few good interview that I’m still waiting to here back from in the next few days. Here’s hoping!

Standard

4 thoughts on “So….redundancy…

  1. Sadly there’s a lot of this around. My other half and I ended up working for the same company via a buyout at the end of last year. She lost her job, I have mine still – just.

    The good news is that there is work out there – and temping allows you to shop around for the right place and the right job.

    I like the idea of museum trips but knittings out of my league.

    All the best with the job hunt

  2. Thanks peoples!

    I’m hoping my luck is starting to improve a bit now…my team did manage to win prizes in the Science Museum pub quiz last night. I’m taking that as a good sign!

Leave a Reply

